Tricky False Idols Album Cover

Listen & Download: Tricky Debuts “Nothing’s Changed,” Readies New Album

Tricky False Idols Album Cover

Tricky’s ‘False Idols’ Album Cover

British trip-hop pioneer, Tricky is preparing fans for his forthcoming tenth studio album with a brand new single, Nothing’s Changed,” featuring vocals by Francesca Belmonte.

Listen: Tricky – “Nothing’s Changed”

Featuring appearances by Nigerian rapper/singer Nneka, The Antlers‘ Peter Silberman, and Chinese down-tempo singer-songwriter Fifi RongFalse Idols will drop on May 28th via Tricky’s own label of the same name.

Though the producer has typically tried to avoid the sound of his dark, epic 90s debut, Maxinquaye, the new album is a more mature return to that era… and we can’t wait to hear it in full. Check out what Trick had to say about the album below:

“Of all my records, the majority of people are into Maxinequaye. That’s because it was a time and a place. Maxinquaye was a part of their life. Some people say it was the soundtrack to their youth. You can’t challenge that. But musically this is a better album. Of course I know that people might not agree with that.

This new album I’ll stand behind every track. I don’t care whether people like it. I’m doing what I want to do, which is what I did with my first record. That’s what made me who I was in the beginning. If people don’t like it, it don’t matter to me because I’m back where I was.”


01 Somebody’s Sins
02 Nothing Matters
03 Valentine
04 Bonnie & Clyde
05 Parenthesis
06 Nothing’s Changed
07 If Only I Knew
08 Is that Your Life
09 Tribal Drums
10 We Don’t Die
11 Chinese Interlude
12 Does It
13 I’m Ready
14 Hey Love
15 Passion of the Christ

[spotted via]