Me’Shell Ndegeocello Pour une Ame Souveraine Album Cover

Me’Shell Ndegéocello Honors Nina Simone with New Album, ‘For a Sovereign Soul’

Me'Shell Ndegéocello's Nina Simone Tribute 'Pour une Ame Souveraine'

Me'Shell Ndegéocello's Nina Simone Tribute 'Pour une Ame Souveraine' features Sinead O'Connor, Lizz Wright, Toshi Reagon, Cody ChesnuTT and more

Grammy-nominated soul singer-songwriter and bassist Me’Shell Ndegéocello will soon release her tenth studio album, a tribute to icon, singer and activist Nina Simone, entitled Pour une Âme Souveraine (For a Sovereign Soul).

The album features musical heavyweights such as Sinead O’Connor, Lizz Wright, Valerie June, Toshi Reagon, Tracy Wannomae, and Cody ChesnuTT, who are backed by Chris Bruce on guitar, Jebin Bruni on keys and Deantoni Parks on drums.

Some of Nina‘s most memorable pieces, such as “Feelin’ Good” and “Four Women” will be revisited on Pour une Âme Souveraine, which is available for purchase on October 9th (pre-order). See the tracklisting and listen to “Be My Husband” featuring Valerie June below.


Listen: Me’Shell Ndegéocello- “Be My Husband” ft Valerie June



  1. Please Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood
  2. Suzanne
  3. Real Real
  4. House of the Rising Sun
  5. Turn Me On
  6. Feelin’ Good
  7. Don’t Take All Night
  8. Nobody’s Fault But Mine
  9. Be My Husband
  10. Black is the Color of My True Love’s Hair
  11. See-Line Woman
  12. Either Way I Lose
  13. To Be Young, Gifted and Black
  14. Four Women